Scrum is about achieving customer value. Each day must bring the team one step closer to their goal. They must achieve things. Stories and tasks must be completed. To get more focus on this matter the questions in Daily Scrum meetings can be adapted a little bit.

Observing this team’s daily Scrums, I noticed that they talked a lot about what they did in the past 24 hours and what they would do in the next 24. Everyone seemed busy and could account for their time. But I had a hard time connecting their busyness to the work they’d committed to do in the Sprint.

So, I suggested a slight change to the three questions that I learned from Mishkin Berteig. Instead of answering the questions, “What did you do in the last 24 hours?” and “What will you do in the next 24?,” I had the team answer the questions, “What did you complete in the last 24 hours?” and “What will you complete in the next 24?” I recommended that they point at tasks and stories on the task board while answering the questions to keep them focused on the work for the Sprint.

via One Word Can Change Your Daily Scrum | Richard Lawrence.

